hw day 3

Interactions I like:

http://slaveryfootprint.org/survey/#gender_and_age

http://gemmacorrell.com

Corey showed me this slavery footprint website and it is really interesting.

1) I like how instead of a wall of text, it is introduced in bits and pieces and enters the page in an interesting way as you scroll.

Screen Shot 2015-04-08 at 1.10.24 PM

2) I really like the feature where you build your house by dragging and dropping rooms. It is a lot more intuitive than having to list off the rooms of your house.

Screen Shot 2015-04-08 at 1.08.22 PM

3) There are clever input methods that are actually really basic but just designed in a way that makes them more engaging. For example: You click + / – to change your age, but it is on a little box that is “connected” to a display. For some reason this was more interesting than just up and down arrows next to the number. (Although admittedly I was a bit confused at first).Screen Shot 2015-04-08 at 1.09.06 PM

4) Just the simple way pages transition (objects flying out and back in) is more interesting and makes the rather slow load time less annoying.

5) I included Gemma’s website because it is similar in style to what I want to do for this project, and I appreciate the element of surprise/ delight that is included just through simple hover states. It feels out of the ordinary without using anything as flashy as the slavery footprint website, and I’m drawn to this.

Screen Shot 2015-04-08 at 1.09.23 PMScreen Shot 2015-04-08 at 1.09.30 PM

Interactions I don’t like:

I’m not sure entirely why, but something about this UK Energy consumption site isn’t doing it for me. I’ll try to break it down. This isn’t an awful website, there are a lot of clever things happening, but I think it has slightly teetered to the side of too much.

http://www.evoenergy.co.uk/uk-energy-guide/

1) I know we are supposed to be talking about interactions and this isn’t really that, but right off the bat there are at least three “badges” on the first page you see. This is annoying, especially when you start to scroll and realize that the huge box asking me to share it on Google Plus is scrolling with me.

Screen Shot 2015-04-08 at 1.16.34 PM

2) I think that if you have to put an icon to indicate interactivity, then your interactions are obviously not clear enough on their own.

3) I see what they are doing with the tree thing (?) and it is containing a lot of data in a small area, but it’s a little bit overwhelming. I looked at it for a long time and still don’t really understand what’s going on. I think the purpose got a bit lost in the excitement over *~interactivity~*

Screen Shot 2015-04-08 at 1.23.06 PM

4) And then, when there is an indication that I assume means interactivity, there isn’t one! I feel like clicking those little + signs should do something. They don’t. Why are they there??????? !!!!!

Screen Shot 2015-04-08 at 1.22.55 PM

5) Overall, this is just a flashy info graphic. I don’t like info graphics so maybe (definitely) that’s influencing my opinion of it. But it’s just overwhelming and overstimulating and overly flashy and over the top in every way.

Wireframes:

I only have two…………….

IMG_7432

IMG_7431

oops. I’ll get to work on that third one.

CSS Diner:

I skipped two levels. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Screen Shot 2015-04-08 at 2.05.35 PM

Leave a Reply

